Join ASPE

2021 ASPE Student Challenge

Preliminary Plan: 2021 Minneapolis, Nov 1-5  (Could be virtual)

Student Challenge Power Point Download

Students are provided (Aug 25, 2021) with:

  • NewWayXY air-bearing (10 mm2 travel range) with Heidenhain LIKgo line scales – 78 nm resolution
  • Motus Mechanical Flexure – based scribe tool (Z ) mechanism with feedback sensing using Lion Capacitance probe Chardon Tool Diamond scribing tool.
  • Sample substrates – 20 x 20 mm Copper coated Si wafer  held on a vacuum chuck •Open Hardware and LabVIEW Software to control the stages and flexure mechanism.
  • CPM, UNC Charlotte  developed 16 bit DAQ with 3 Channel current amplifiers to operate voice coil actuators Consulting sessions with experts in the various fields will be provided. – between Sep 1 & Nov 1.
  • Means to gage progress at the school.
  • Means to be able to ship a few samples to Zeiss Industrial Metrology – before progress report  in Oct 1st.
  • Means to either measure the final samples at the conference or ship 2 weeks before Nov 1st to the Zeiss.
  • At the conference, room with meals and drinks.
  • Recognition to all, and monetary prices to the top 3 schools ($4 , $2 and $1 Ks)
  • Grading rubric will allow for machine improvements but points are only given for manufacturing processes & results.

School needs access to:

  • Clean/dry air (around 80 psi).
  • National Instruments myRIO Controller.


Committee Members – 2021

  • Luis A. Aguirre – 3M Company <laaguirre2@mmm.com>
  • Kumar Arumugam – UNC Charlotte <karumuga@uncc.edu>
  • Dipankar Behara – UT Austin <dipankar.behera@utexas.edu>
  • Paul Brackman – Zeiss <paul.brackman@zeiss.com>
  • Raymond C. Cady – Corning, <cadyrc@corning.com>
  • Jacob Cole – UNC Charlotte  <jcole50@uncc.edu>
  • Liam G Connolly – UT Austin <liam.connolly@utexas.edu>
  • Tim Dalrymple <dalrymple.tim@gmail.com>
  • Drew Devitt – New Way bearings<Drew.Devitt@gmail.com>
  • Chunjie Fan – UNC Charlotte <cfan4@uncc.edu>
  • Mark T. Kosmowski – Electro-Scientific Industries, Inc., <mark.kosmowski@mksinst.com>
  • Mark Schmitt <mschmitt54321@gmail.com>
  • Don Martin – Martin Mason LLC <don@martin-mason.com>
  • Senajith Bandara Rekawa – Lawrence Berkeley Laboratories <sbrekawa@lbl.gov>
  • Nilabh Roy – Canon Nanotechnologies <nroy@cnt.canon.com>
  • Stuart Smith – UNC Charlotte <stusmith@uncc.edu>
  • Alex Sohn – Facebook Reality Labs <asohn@fb.com> Trevor Stolber – 3M company <twstolber@mmm.com>