Dear Precision Engineers, Metrologists, and Additive Manufacturing Community,

Industrial demand for precision components with stringent dimensional and functional specifications is accelerating.  Aimed at this challenge, the American Society for Precision Engineering (ASPE) and the European Society for Precision Engineering and Nanotechnology (euspen) are presenting the 7th Topical Meeting of Advancing Precision in Additive Manufacturing. This is a multidisciplinary international technical exchange spanning precision design, dimensional and surface texture metrology, computed tomography, materials science, in-process metrology and machine tool engineering.

But alas, as the Call for Papers was launched, global events forced the cancellation of our face-to-face workshop to be held in July in Knoxville, Tennessee. We were on-track for the largest attendance in this series with special tours scheduled at Oak Ridge National Laboratory’s Manufacturing Demonstration Facility.

Waiting for future years for the next face-to-face meeting is too far away.

To unite our diverse areas of expertise and meet our networking goals, our Organizing Committee is presenting a virtual workshop with overviews of activities and technical highlights from their institutions and laboratories. The technical topics span from Design for Manufacturing to Workpiece & In-Process Metrology to Machine Tool Design & Process Control.  The program begins with a suite of optional tutorials on Monday July 13, followed by three days of technical workshop.

The workshop presentations will use Zoom in a session format similar to the recent successful ASPE Topical Meeting on Controls and Mechatronics. Presentations will feature viewgraphs shared to everyone’s screen and video images of the speaker. These are followed immediately by a short Q&A period, with chat questions received and answered in real-time. After a session of talks, there will be Break-out Sessions, where the audience can discuss presentations directly with the speaker or interact with other attendees.

The presentation schedule spans time zones from California to Central Europe, but a time window has been carefully selected to accommodate everyone. A Networking and Social Hour concludes each day, but you must supply your own beverage.

Given the disruption of the global pandemic, it has not been possible to re-issue a Call for Papers and accommodate paper submissions outside of the Organizing Committee. The range of topics and opportunity for in-depth discussions in the break-out periods should be beneficial to a broad audience and a chance to virtually meet many international researchers. All members of the precision engineering, metrology, and additive manufacturing communities are invited to register.

(Announcement for distribution here)

John S. Taylor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Richard Leach, University of Nottingham, UK

Organizing Committee:
David J. Bate, Nikon Metrology, UK
Marcin B. Bauza, ZEISS Industrial Quality Solutions
Douglas A. Bristow, Missouri University of Science and Technology
Daniel Kowalik, EWI
Simone Carmignato, University of Padua, Italy
Christopher J. Evans, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Wim Dewulf, KU Leuven, Belgium
Pete J. Fitsos, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Jason C. Fox, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Brett Griffith, Kansas City National Security Campus
Ola L. A. Harrysson, North Carolina State University
Paul Hooper, Imperial College, UK
Bradley H. Jared, Sandia National Laboratories
Fred van Keulen, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Michael M. Kirka, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Shan Lou, University of Huddersfield, UK
Stephen J. Ludwick, Aerotech, Inc.
David Bue Pedersen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
William H. Peter, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Antonius T. Peijnenburg, VDL Enabling Technologies Group, Netherlands
Senajith Rekawa, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Johannes Henrich Schleifenbaum, RWTH Aachen University  & Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik ILT
Tony Schmitz, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Adam Thompson, University of Nottingham, UK
Ann Witvrouw, KU Leuven, Belgium
Xiayun Zhao, University of Pittsburgh